Finally done with my physical setup

so yes..I’m finally done with my Physical Lab setup (based on IE’s topology). I’ll be posting my detailed learnings (hopefully) soon with the picture of my lab ๐Ÿ™‚

Total Cost of building the lab: $0 ๐Ÿ™‚

Total Time taken: ~ 1 month (since I had to wait to collect routers/memory/interfaces) etc….

anyway, it’s finally done! great learning experience even though it took more time than I had planned to take.

Here is a brief summary of things that I learned/observed in building the lab:

  • I used this link mainly to build all my lab:http://www.internetworkexpert.com/resources/ccierack.htm
  • I used FR Switch and BB3 as the same router.ย  Remember: that functionality of BB routers are L3 and FR is L2, so they don’t HAVE to be separate routers — although if you have extra, great!, it would make your config a bit easier to look at…
  • my routers: R1= 2610XM, R2=2610XM, R3=3640, R4=3640, R5=3640, R6=2801, BB1=2825, BB2=2610XM, BB3=2610XM, FRS=3640
  • Serial Interfaces: I used 2xNM-4T on my FR Switch, 1 NM-4A/S on R3, 1 WIC-2T on BB1, NM-4T on R5, and WIC-1T on the rest of the routers that required serial interfaces.
  • I used FE ports instead of Ethernet ports on all my routers, 2FE2W basically
  • I had initially configured BB1, BB2, and BB3 as 2651s with 16/16 (Mem/RAM) based on the link above but I realized that when I loaded the 12.2 IOS version they list on the website, I couldn’t configure any of “ipv6” functionality or “address-family” functionality under BGP. I basically had to get rid of those 3 routers and get routers with more memory and RAM…thus you’ll notice I have really awesome BB routers ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I used the following link: http://www.petri.co.il/how-to-configure-cisco-router-as-terminal-server.htm to confiugre my Term Server. Remember, to switch back and forth b/w routers and term server you need to press: ctrl-shift-6 and THEN x. I was trying to press them ALL AT ONCE, and it didn’t seem to work!
  • I highly recommend you just use the same IOS image on the BB routers as you did on the Rx routers. So that you don’t run into issues of missing features that I ran into.
  • I also had trouble connecting serial links for Frame Relay that are DIRECTLY connected b/w routers. (the green FR links in the diagram above). I was using V.35 (I think) cables [the big bulky ones] and connecting the DTE and DCE together….but for some reason, my links were not coming in up/up state. They remained in up/down state. I changed my serial cables to use RS23 (I need to get the names right again) cables and then vola…everything started working fine!
  • REMEMBER: connect the DCE cable to the FR Switch and the DTE cable to the router. The “clock rate 64000” command is issued on the DCE side (i.e. the FR switch). If you’re not sure what you’ve connected where…just see if the interface supports the “clock rate” command. If it doesn’t that means, that interface is a DTE.
  • IMPORTANT COMMANDS: use “sh diag” to see what kind of interfaces you have and what they show up as on your router..and the all essential “sh version” to check how much memory/flash you have running and which IOS version is currently running. And also the value of the config-register.
  • If you get routers from someone and they have password enabled, password recovery is REALLY easy…..here are the steps:
  1. Reboot the router,
  2. within a few seconds of its rebooting, press “ctrl-break”, it goes in rommon> mode,
  3. set the config register to 0x2142, “configreg 0x2142”
  4. then type, “reset”, 5) router boots up with an empty running config (old startup config is still untouched).
  5. it will ask you configuration questions, just press “ctrl-c”.
  6. set a new enable password, “enable password cisco”,
  7. change the config register: config-register 0x2102. THAT’S IT.
  • For my TFTP server, I used “pumpkin TFTP”, available from Klever group: http://kin.klever.net/pumpkin/
  • Make sure that you set the default TFTP directory to be where all your IOS images are so that when you issue “copy tftp flash”, you get the file without problems. For those that haven’t done this before, TFTPing your IOS image from your PC to router is very simple.
  1. Just configure your PCs physical ethernet interface to be a static ip, for e.g., 10.0.0.1/24 and default gateway 10.0.0.2.
  2. Configure your routers FastEthernet interface with ip address 10.0.0.2 255.255.255.0
  3. connect your ethernet port on PC to the FE port on router with a X-OVER cable.
  4. you should be able to ping your PC from the router.
  5. Download the image into flash using: copy tftp flash
  6. give the exact file name with the “.bin” extension [I didn’t try without it] when it asks you for the filename.
  1. type, “confreg” on the “rommon>” prompt
  2. it will ask you quesitons….leave all of them default, except “change the baud rate”, change the baud rate to be 115200
  3. then reboot the router. HyperTerm will give you all messed up characters..this is expected cuz you changed the baud rate to be 115200 and your HT is set to 9600…so just change baud rate on HT as well to 115200. You should be fine then.
  4. then on the rommom prompt, type: rommon>xmodem -c “IOS image name”
  5. once you type that, you need to go to “Transfer”->”Send” in your HT and send the .bin IOS file from wherever it is on your computer
  6. after that, you can chill for 2-3 hours depending on the size of your image! ๐Ÿ™‚

So that’s my recollection of what I had to do…I’ll edit this post if I remember more things or find errors in what I posted!

HTH

qospf

4 thoughts on “Finally done with my physical setup

Leave a Reply

